VIENNA

September, 2016.

I visited Vienna, Austria, as part of a small European tour with my sister. Out of the 4 places I visited (Budapest, Bratislava, Vienna, and Prague), Vienna was probably my favourite. There’s so much to see and do there, I would recommend it to anyone.

We got a boat from Bratislava which allowed us to see a different side to Austria. Along the way we saw castles, villages and fishing houses. We felt like this would be a more interesting way to get to Vienna.

As soon as we got to Vienna we visited Café Central, the same Café that Hitler visited (so it was pretty popular). Be prepared to queue. I’d say it’s worth it though.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Somewhere that cannot be missed on a trip to Vienna is the Rathaus. When I was there, there was a circus there which I think added to the charm.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Whilst we were there we visited Schönbrunn Palace, which also has the Tiergarten Schönbrunn (Vienna Zoo) in the gardens. This is one of the most picturesque places I have visited and would encourage anyone to go. It wasn’t too expensive to get into, and was quite easy to find on public transport.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A few buildings you need to visit are the Austrian Parliament Building and the National History Museum.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Another place that we found interesting was the National Library of Austria. It is the definition of Library Goals. We weren’t really sure what to expect when we paid to go in but we think it was worth it. I can’t even imagine how long it took them to paint that ceiling (and who would have the nerve to do it).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now you can’t go to Vienna without trying the famous Sachertorte at the Sacher Hotel. Again, there was a queue for this place but it was well worth it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

These are just a few of the probably hundreds of photos I took. I only spent two days here and I am already desperate to go back.

Leave a comment